Second Level

CDETB has a long and proud tradition in second level education. We have an excellent team of highly qualified and experienced teachers who are committed to success, raising expectations, providing opportunities and striving to meet the needs of all our students in caring and supportive settings. Besides providing a strong academic and creative environment each of our schools offers dynamic extra-curricular activity in sports and cultural actives.

Second level education consists of a three-year Junior Cycle, followed by a two or three year Senior Cycle depending on whether the optional Transition Year (TY) is taken.

Students usually begin the Junior Cycle at age 12. The Junior Certificate examination is taken after three years. The Senior Cycle caters for students in the 15 to18 year age group. It includes an optional Transition year, which follows immediately after the Junior Cycle. TY provides an opportunity for students to experience a wide range of educational inputs, including work experience, over the course of a year that is free from formal examinations.

Junior Certificate

The Junior Certificate Programme builds on the foundations of Primary Education. It allows you to achieve a level of competence in a wide range of subjects that will enable you to proceed to Senior Cycle. A number of our schools also offer the Junior Certificate School Programme (JCSP) which provides a curricular framework that helps to make the Junior Certificate more accessible to young people who may leave school early.

Transition Year

Before you progress to a two year Leaving Certificate course you might decide to choose a Transition Year programme which gives you the opportunity to encounter a wide range of educational experiences, including work experience, without the focus on examinations. Afterwards you have a choice of three programmes at Leaving Certificate level.

Leaving Certificate

If you follow this programme you must take at least five subjects, including Irish (except if you entered the system after 11 years of age). Students intending to go on to third level education normally take the Leaving Certificate examination at the end of Senior Cycle.

Leaving Certificate Applied (LCA)

This two-year person-centred programme aims at preparing students for adult and working life. It is intended to meet the needs of students who are not adequately catered for by other Leaving Certificate Programmes. The Leaving Certificate Applied (LCA) Programme is made up of a number of modules grouped under three headings: General Education, Vocational Education and Vocational Preparation. Graduates of the LCA can progress to an approved Further Education course and can become eligible for admission to some third level courses.

Leaving Certificate Vocational Programme (LCVP)

This programme has a strong vocational element that concentrates on technological subjects. It gives you the opportunity to realise your potential for self-directed learning, innovation and enterprise. You take five subjects (including two vocational subjects), a Modern European Language and link modules on Enterprise Education, Preparation for Work and Work Experience.



College Location
Coláiste Dhúlaigh Coolock
Margaret Aylward Community College Whitehall, D. 9
Cabra Community College Cabra, D.7
Marino College Fairview, D. 3
Coláiste Eoin Finglas, D.11
Ringsend College Ringsend, D4
Kylemore College Ballyfermot, D.10
Larkin Community College Champion’s Avenue, D.1
Presentation Community College Terenure
Clonturk Community College Swords Rd. D.9
St. Kevin’s College Crumlin D. 12