Let’s bring Community National Schools to the city of Dublin.

December 9, 2016

The Department of Education and Skills has announced that two new Primary Schools will be opening in Dublin in 2017 and 2018.  One will be in the area of Finglas,  Scribblestown,  Ashtown and Pelletstown in 2017.  The other will be in Dublin South City Centre (Dublin 2,4,6 & 8) in 2018.

CDETB is applying for patronage of these schools.

Community National Schools are a new model of state funded primary schools. The first School opened in 2008 and there are currently 11 thriving schools across the country. They are managed by Education and Training Boards.

You can help by signing an expression of interest form.  If you are looking for a future school for your child please fill out the online form HERE.  You will also find answers to frequently asked questions, brochures and maps of the areas.

Community National Schools (CNS) are child centered, co-educational, multi-belief, inclusive, diverse and have a high level of parental involvement. They can operate through the medium of English or Irish to meet local needs.  As ETB schools they offer the highest educational standards and a 21st Century learning experience using the latest Information and Communication Technologies.

children images composite

Parents of Community National School children say:

‘People with different beliefs are able to learn together and accept each others differences which makes for a better future.’

‘My child is safe at school and I know that my child is treated with respect and encouraged.  Teachers are receptive and empathetic.’

‘The Principal and teachers are terrific – very forward thinking, committed and they take an inclusive approach.’

To learn more about the CNS model visit www.CNS.ie

Watch this great video about CNS HERE.

Follow on twitter @cityofdublincns and like us on Facebook.

Go back