Two new primary schools are coming to Dublin City.

December 19, 2016

 Are you aware that two new primary schools are coming to Dublin City?  One is coming to the Finglas, Pelletstown, Ashtown & Scribbletown area in 2017 and the second is coming to Dublin South City Centre (Dublin 2, 4 & 6) in 2018. CDETB is campaigning to make these Community National Schools.  Community National Schools (CNS) are a new model of state funded primary school.  They are managed by Education and Training Boards (ETBs), the first opened in 2008 and there are currently 11 thriving schools across the country.

If you are looking for a school for your child that is co-educational, multi-belief, inclusive and diverse please express your interest HERE.  You will also find answers to frequently asked questions, brochures and maps of the areas.

Community National Schools (CNS) are child centered, co-educational, multi-belief, inclusive, diverse and have a high level of parental involvement. They can operate through the medium of English or Irish to meet local needs. As ETB schools they offer the highest educational standards and a 21st Century learning experience using the latest Information and Communication Technologies.


Parents of Community National School children say:

‘You really get the feeling of one big family and you can see how much the teachers put into their lessons.’

‘We feel very much involved and happy to participate in activities. The school is open to all religions and the children love it.’

‘The children are all equal and their individual learning ability and style is respected’

To learn more about the CNS model visit

Read an article about CNS at HERE

Watch this great video about Citywest & Saggart CNS HERE.

Follow on twitter @cityofdublincns and like us on Facebook

Go back